(1) Warrangal


Warangal is locted in Telangana. It was the capital of the Kakatiya dynasty from the 12th to the 14th centuries. The Kakatiyas left many monuments, including an impressive fortress, four massive stone gateways, the Swayambhu temple dedicated to Shiva, and the Ramappa temple situated near Ramappa Lake. The cultural and administrative distinction of the Kakatiyas was mentioned by the famous traveller Marco Polo.

Later, it came under Delhi Sultanate and then the Nayakas captured Warangal from Delhi sultanate and ruled for fifty years. Later it became the part of Mughal Empire when Aurangzeb conquered Golconda in 1687.

(2) Waihind / Udabhandapura (Location almost same as Peshwar)


Note: Mistake in map as some parts of Pakistan Occupied Kashmir has been wrongfully included in Pakistan which is integral part of India.


  • Waihind (Udabhanda, Udabhandapura, Ohind, Und), near Peshawar, was the place of residence or secondary capital of emperor of Kapisa.Waihind is near modern Attock, situated on the right bank of river Indus. Gandhara is also known as Waihind in Persian.In the spring of 326 BCE Alexander III of Macedon passed into the Punjab.
  • Mahmud Ghazni’s initial raids were against the Hindu Shahi kingdom in which its king Jayapala was defeated in 1001. His successor Anandapala fought against Mahmud but he was also defeated in the Battle of Waihind, the Hind Shahi capital near Peshawar in 1008. In this battle, Anandapala was supported by the rulers of Kanauj and Rajasthan.
  • As a result of his victory at Waihind, Mahmud extended his rule over most of the Punjab.

(3) Yamunanagar

  • Topra village where the iconic Ashoka Pillar was originally erected. The pillar was dismantled and taken to Feroz Shah Kotla in Delhi (Firoz Shah Kotla) by the then Sultan of Delhi Feroz Shah Tughlaq in the 14th Century. It has been documented by Tughlaq’s contemporary historian Shams-i-Siraj. The village is located about 15 km from Yamunanagar in Haryana near Ambala.
  • The pillar uprooted from Topra was the only pillar in India which had seven edicts issued by Ashoka, whereas rest of the pillars had only six edicts.
  • Firuz Shah also shifted second pillar from Meerut to Delhi (Delhi-Meerut Pillar)